What does it cost?

Check out our cost calculator or visit student financial services for information on estimated costs.

63.4% of Perimeter College students receive financial assistance.

How long will it take?

The typical pathway requires 60 semester hours — 42 hours in core curriculum and 18 hours in pathway courses.

Where will I take classes?
Alpharetta, Clarkston, Decatur, Dunwoody, Newton, Online

ALL COURSES REQUIRED TO EARN THE DEGREE CAN BE COMPLETED ONLINE.

Application Deadlines View Admissions Requirements

Fall Semester (starts in August) — Due by August 1
Spring Semester (starts in January) — Due by December 1
Summer Semester (starts in late May) — Due by May 1

Philosophy Pathway, A.A.

What Is Philosophy?

Philosophy is the study of ideas, such as those about knowledge, truth and the meaning of life. It encourages students to challenge, defend and develop a tolerance for ideas.

Why Study Philosophy?

Studying philosophy enhances problem-solving capacities, persuasive powers and the ability to understand and express ideas. The study of philosophy provides a valuable preparation for students planning to pursue professional careers such as law, medicine and theology.

A note on pathways: A pathway is an advising guide to help students prepare for their intended bachelor's degree major. By following the course of study outlined in the appropriate Associate of Arts or Associate of Science pathway, students will have the necessary prerequisite courses to continue in their chosen disciplines. A pathway is not a major and will not be represented on the diploma.

Students should consult with advisers to confirm availability of online courses and requirements or additional costs that may be associated with courses. Students should check with advisers about which campuses offer the courses they need. Typically, core courses required for pathways can be taken at most locations and online, while pathway-specific courses may require attendance at a particular location.

Pathway Details

The Philosophy pathway requires 42 hours of Core Curriculum and 18 hours of courses appropriate to the pathway. For up-to-date curriculum requirements, please visit the catalog.

As part of Georgia State University, Perimeter College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools: Commission on Colleges (SACS-COC) to award associate degrees. Successful completion of a pathway at Perimeter College leads to an Associate of Arts or an Associate of Science degree. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, GA 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Georgia State University.

Description

Careers

Taking and academic pathway in philosophy provides a foundation for careers requiring the ability to organize ideas, evaluate moral dilemmas and question the status quo. Careers include:

    ·       Computer science
    ·       Consulting
    ·       Education
    ·       Government
    ·       Journalism
    ·       Law
    ·       Medicine
    ·       Theology

For potential job and salary information, visit the Bureau of Labor Statistics

Contacts

Online Programs

Moisés Aguayo
Enrollment Coach
404-413-4393
online@gsu.edu

VISIT GEORGIA STATE ONLINE

Admissions and Curriculum Inquiries

Admissions
For help with applying or admissions, please review our website, visit a campus office, or contact us at 404-413-2500.

Dr. Michael Bradley
Associate Chair
Online
678-212-7592
mtbjr@gsu.edu

 

Dunwoody Campus

Richard Lindner
Assistant Chair
Dunwoody Campus
770-274-5549
rlindner@gsu.edu

Elizabeth Chavez
Senior Administrative Secretary
Dunwoody Campus
echavez@gsu.edu
770-274-5148

 

Clarkston Campus

Sally Robertson
Associate Chair
Clarkston Campus
srobertson@gsu.edu
678-891-3564

Dr. Brian Bonin
Assistant Chair
Clarkston Campus
678-891-3561
bbonin@gsu.edu

Jennifer Jenkins
Fine Arts Production Manager
Clarkston Campus
678-891-3562
jjenkins@gsu.edu

Joni Morrill
Administrative Secretary
Clarkston Campus
678-891-3563
Jmorrill2@gsu.edu

Alpharetta Campus

Dr. Ken Johnson
Department Chair of English
Alpharetta Campus
678-240-6048
kjohnson212@gsu.edu

Karon Edge-Fitzpatrick
Administrative Coordinator
Alpharetta Campus
678-240-6024
kedge3@gsu.edu

Decatur Campus

Dr. Andy Rogers
Interim Associate Chair of English
Decatur Campus, SB-2282
678-891-2385
arogers41@gsu.edu

Newton Campus

Jane Hercules
Associate Chair
Newton Campus
770-278-1374
jhercules@gsu.edu

Deborah Manson
Assistant Chair
Newton Campus
770-278-1256
dmanson@gsu.edu

Lakita Williams
Administrative Assistant
Newton Campus
770-278-1381
lwilliams160@gsu.edu

 

Online

Dr. Michael Bradley
Interim Associate Chair
Online
678-212-7592
mtbjr@gsu.edu

Valarie Koonce
Assistant Chair
Online
678-212-7515
vkoonce@gsu.edu

Natal Waddell
Administrative Assistant
Online
678-212-7503
nwaddell1@gsu.edu

The information shared here provides an overview of Georgia State’s offerings. For official details on admissions requirements, tuition, courses and more, refer to the university catalogs.